Hometown:

I went to high school in Platteville, Wisconsin, about two hours south of La Crosse on Hwy. 61.

Education background:

I received a BA in Classics with an emphasis in Latin (although my heart belongs to Attic Greek) from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. In May 2012, I graduated from Dominican University with an MLIS.

Please tell us about your past experience in libraries:

I had my introduction to the library profession at UW – Madison’s Wendt Library. I manned the circulation desk, mostly during off hours, performing the typical circulation duties (shelving, some ready-reference assistance, requesting materials, etc.). Because I loved Wendt so much, I decided to attend library school, and shortly after graduation from UW-Madison I enrolled in Dominican University’s Graduate School of Library and Information Science. My most recent position was at North Park University’s Brandel Library, where I completed a reference and user instruction internship.

What do you like best about working in libraries?

I really love the puzzle of research. It is so satisfying to enter in the perfect search terms and discover exactly what’s needed. The fact that I can help someone, someone likely quite frustrated, just adds to the joy of discovery.

Why did you choose Viterbo as your next employer?

I’ve known about Viterbo University for a few years – some of my high school classmates enrolled in the nursing program right after graduation – but I didn’t really know much about the university until I moved to La Crosse. I’ve learned through word of mouth that Viterbo is well respected by members of the community and provides a great education and environment for its students. It wasn’t until I applied to the part-time reference position that I realized how uncannily close Viterbo is, at least in student body and degree programs, to North Park University, the site of my internship. It was really nice how everything worked out – I’m now an employee of a great university and library, and I have the right background to serve Viterbo students.

Hobbies:

When I can find the time, I enjoy knitting and gardening. I’ve just recently picked up ceramics, although I’m nowhere near good enough to fire anything, yet.

Unique fact about you:

I have a pet tortoise named Harry.

